Nick Leeson is this year’s keynote speaker at Small Cap Awards 2019

The Small Cap Awards is an annual opportunity to recognise outstanding achievement focused on smaller quoted companies.

The Awards ceremony, which this year will take place on 26 June at the Montcalm Hotel in Central London, shines a light on the best companies and participants in the small and micro-cap community (sub £100m market capitalisation) across nine categories. The keynote speech at the ceremony will be given by Nick Leeson, whose rogue trading caused the collapse of Barings Bank.

Since it started in mid-2012, the Small Cap Club has successfully enabled leaders and participants in the micro-cap sector to meet regularly, based on the premise that meeting people builds trust and creates new areas of thinking and opportunity, and the regular networking events have gone from strength to strength.

This year the Small Cap Awards is delighted to announce headline partnership with Project Heather.

Tomás Carruthers, Founder and CEO of Project Heather, said:

“We are delighted to be supporting this event as we work towards launching our own stock exchange built on impact principles. The small cap universe is incredibly important to the economy and we hope the launch of a new exchange will encourage more businesses to join it and realise their plans and ambitions through a listing.”

In addition, the event is co-sponsored by the highly respected commercial law firm Hamlins LLP and the Top 20 national audit and accountancy firm UHY Hacker Young. This year the NEX Exchange Company of the Year award is sponsored by NEX Exchange. The awards are organised by London event and network agency Lily & Piper.

The nominations have been selected by a judging panel comprised of leaders in the Small Cap sector and is Chaired by Claire Noyce, Managing Partner at Hybridan LLP.

IPO of the Year

  • Aquis Exchange Plc
  • Cake Box Holdings Plc
  • Litigation Capital Management Limited
  • The Panoply Holdings Plc
  • Manolete Partners Plc
  • Crossword Cybersecurity Plc

Company of the Year

  • I3 Energy Plc
  • Beeks Financial Cloud Group Plc
  • CREO Medical Group Plc
  • Scientific Digital Imaging Plc
  • Water Intelligence Plc
  • Frontier IP Group Plc

Executive Director of the Year

  • Amanda Mesler, CEO – Earthport Plc
  • Gordon McArthur, CEO – Beeks Financial Cloud Group Plc
  • Ian Fishwick, Chairman – AdEPT Technology Group Plc
  • Mike Creedon, CEO – Scientific Digital Imaging Plc
  • Steve McQuillan, CEO  Avingtrans Plc
  • Simon Stilwell, CEO – Bonhill Group Plc

Impact Company of the Year

  • Kromek Group Plc
  • Yourgene Health Plc
  • Inspiration Healthcare Group Plc
  • Walls and Futures REIT Plc
  • Nanoco Group Plc
  • MYCELX Technologies Corporation

Analyst of the Year

  • Peter McNally, Technology, Panmure Gordon & Co
  • Kartik Swaminathan, Arden Partners Plc
  • Nick Spoliar, Support Services, WH Ireland Limited
  • Johnathan Barrett, Media, N+1 Singer
  • George O’Connor, Technology, Stifel Nicolaus Europe Limited
  • Jeremy Grime, Financials, Charlton Illingworth

Journalist of the Year

  • Paul Scott – Stockopedia
  • Emily Nicolle – City AM
  • Simon Thompson – Investors Chronicle
  • Jamie Nimmo – Mail on Sunday
  • Joanne Hart – Mail on Sunday
  • Mark Shapland – Evening Standard Small Cap Spotlight

Fund Manager of the Year

  • Seneca Growth Capital VCT PLC
  • Liontrust UK Micro Cap
  • Gresham House UK Micro Cap
  • Octopus UK Micro Cap Growth
  • Amati UK Smaller Companies
  • Marlborough Nano Cap Growth

NEX Exchange Company of the Year

  • National Milk Records Plc
  • Sativa Investments Plc
  • NQ Minerals Plc
  • Walls and Futures REIT Plc
  • Chapel Down Group Plc
  • DXS International Plc

Lifetime Achievement Award

To be announced on the evening.

The winners in each category will be announced on Wednesday 26th June at a black tie event held at The Montcalm Hotel, Marble Arch, 2, Wallenberg Place, Marylebone, London, W1H 7TN and will celebrate success for UK listed Small Caps.

%d bloggers like this: